Tags

, ,

pear and stilton salad

Pear and Stilton Salad

Salad, I don’t think you can ever have enough of it. It’s versatility plus! You can make it go with anything and you can make it out of anything.

I like to keep a supply of salad greens growing in my garden but recently things have  been looking a little bare and neglected so I thought I’d buy a bag of salad from the supermarket. Arggghh! what an exorbitant price. How are those prices justified? Instead of leaving with a bag of greens, I left with a couple of those newspaper wrapped seedling packages. Within about 2 weeks they have enough leaves to start picking and eating.

Tonight I gladly picked some of those leaves, supplemented them with some young rainbow chard leaves, some pear (it’s just a young triple graft tree that keeps on producing! Beurre Bosc today, very sweet), some stilton and walnuts and put together a delicious and simple salad. It was perfect with the pasta and garlic bread.

Stilton and Pear Salad

You need (quantities will vary)

  • some salad greens
  • some pear, peeled and cut into small pieces
  • some stilton or blue cheese
  • a sprinkling of walnuts

Dressing

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tblespns white wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tspn dijon mustard

Mix the mustard with the white wine vinegar and slowly pour in the olive oil, whisking until emulsified.

Pour over salad

Enjoy!!

