Tags

,

art deco gold wallpaperMy children asked me what I wanted for Mother’s Day this year. After giving it some thought, I suggested we dispense with the presents and just go and have a nice brunch at a place of my choosing …..and I choose Coco at The Roxy Cinema in Miramar. Here’s the link

 Coco at the Roxy Cinema

If you’re from out of town or indeed from the other side of the world, you may not have heard of this place, but I bet you’ve heard of Peter Jackson and Lord of the Rings and Avatar and The Lovely Bones and Tin Tin and The Hobbit to just name a few –  and there’s the connection.

You see a few years ago, the Capitol cinema building was a derelict old building in Miramar, Gollum’s newer, more suburban homeland perhaps you could say. It’s also where Weta Workshop is located and where all those movies like Lord of the Rings, Avatar, King Kong,  etc etc are put togther.

My guess is that Peter Jackson or one of the Weta staff were driving to work one day when they spied a fantastic opportunity to bring their creativity to the streets. Here, at their doorstep, was an old cinema crying out  for the magical Weta touch. A fabulous opportunity to revive the independent cinema experience and bring a touch of 1930s glamour to us cinema goers who are a little jaded by the multiplex experience – oh and while we’re at it, why don’t we add a gorgeously glamorous but refined restaurant and cafe complete with a most outstanding art deco leadlight ‘chandelier’ and the most exquisite art deco style coffee machine you’ve ever seen.

So we went there for my Mother’s Day treat and it was far better than presents (except for the beautiful 3D card Zara made for me and kept secret for 3 weeks!!). There was a special Mother’s Day pamper package available but that wasn’t really our style, though the white linen, gift baskets and flowers did look beautiful. I chose the veal which was tender and lovely and the children had scrambled eggs , which were pretty much as you’d expect good scrambled eggs to be, light and fluffy.

I don’t have photos but just check out this website above, there’s plenty of gorgeous photos and some of the construction itself which are interesting. Even if you’re never likely to go there, if you love that art deco style I’m sure you will enjoy browsing the photos. And if you are visiting Wellington I suggest you pop in even just for coffee and cake – after your visit to the Weta studios just up the road of course.

