Tags

, , ,

Juicy, sweet passionfruit

Who hasn’t been seduced by passionfruit? They sit there on the market shelf all wrinkly and purple and ugly but you know that as soon as you cut it open,that juicy sweetness will have you hooked for life.

I saw some in the market the other day and was soooo tempted, but I had to make one of those life choices – 3 passionfruit or one round the world trip travelling first class…they cost roughly the same……I chose the apples.

By a stroke of ironic good fortune though, later that day my friend invited us to dinner. ‘I’ll  bring dessert’ I said, and rushed back to the market to get the passionfruit. I also bought a couple of other things that I didn’t need so that the cost of the passionfruit was disguised in the overall price. Then I threw away the receipt without looking at it. People do all sorts of silly things for love.

If you can bear to mix your passionfruit with other ingredients, this passionfruit pudding is simple to make and quite scrumptious. I’ve ripped the pages from a NZ House and Garden magazine but there’s no date on it. I’ve had it for several years.

You will need

  • 4 tblespns of passionfruit pulp (about 4 passionfruit)
  • 3 level tblespns of flour
  • 125g sugar
  • 1/4 tspn salt
  • finely grated zest of one lemon
  • 2 large eggs (separated)
  • 250ml milk

Here’s what to do

  • Pre heat oven to 160C. Mix sifted flour, sugar,salt and lemon zest thoroughly
  • Beat the egg yolks well, one at a time. Add the milk.
  • Whisk whites until they hold their shape and fold into the batter with a metal spoon
  • Pour mixture into a 20cm  shallow buttered dish (or 4 ramekins) and place in a bain marie*. Bake for 1 hour.
  • Test with a skewer – the dish should have separated into layers with sponge at the top and passionfruit ‘custard’ on the bottom.

*Bain marie – a shallow oven dish half filled with water which allows the dessert to cook gently and evenly.

Serve with ice cream or cream. Enjoy!

The uncut version, but underneath that crust was a creamy passionfruity custard.

