Tags

, , , , ,

White Chocolate Truffles

By Kayi

These are my favourite sweets at the moment and I could eat them all day. We’ve just spent a few days up at grandad’s, helping him celebrate his 80th birthday and I asked mum if she would make some of these white chocolate truffles to take to the party. She did.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 c cream
  • 250g white chocolate melts
  • finely grated zest of one lemon (approx 1 tblspn)
  • a few drops of lemon essence and almond essence
  • 1/4 c dessicated coconut
  • 1/4 c ground almonds
  • Coating: coconut,icing sugar or grated white chocolate

Method

Place cream and chocolate melts in a heatproof bowl over a saucepan , or a double boiler. Stir until chocolate has melted. Remove bowl from heat and stir in lemon zest, essences and then coconut and almonds. Place bowl in fridge for about 45-60 minutes to chill. When chilled, roll into small balls then roll them in the coconut, icing sugar or white chocolate. Store in an airtight container in the fridge.

Enjoy

Phillipa says – We’ve made these several times and not just at Christmas. In fact, I’ve added finely chopped dried apricots which cut nicely through the richness, I’ve used milk chocolate and orange juice and zest when I was short of white chocolate, and I accidently left out the almonds one time but they still tasted great and I don’t think anyone noticed! It’s a very versatile little recipe.  Source: NZ House and Garden  – Beautiful Christmas  magazine supplement 2010(?) or 2011

