Normally when I read the news about terrible events in other parts of the world I think ‘oh dear, that’s awful, poor people etc etc then skip to the next story or coffee or whatever.

This morning as I read about the droughts affecting parts of North America and Canada, including families that had lost entire crops or stock through fire, I thought ‘hey, I ‘know’ these people. ‘I’ve read their stories and seen their pictures’, and suddenly the news items took on a much more personal tone. In my head I recalled photos I’d looked at on blogs and remembered snippets of stories where reference was made to the effect of the weather.

So I just wanted to give a little shout out to everyone who may be suffering the effects of inclement weather and to hope that you and your families are safe and well. We’re thinking of you here.

Take care, Phillipa

